Ogun inaugurates c’ttee on 2013 UNICEF zonal network

The Ogun Government on Tuesday inaugurated an eight-man committee on the hosting of the 14th United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) Zonal Network for Children (ZNC) in 2013.

Speaking at the inauguration in Abeokuta, Mr Taiwo Adeoluwa, the Secretary to the State Government (SSG),  said government placed a great premium on issues bordering on the welfare of children and women.

He also said that the welfare of  children and women would go a long way in measuring the socio-economic indices of any given country.

“As a rule, whatever we do in Ogun must conform to the Ogun standards. The responsibility to do  good planning and have a successful hosting rests on us,” Adeoluwa said.

He described members of the committee as men and women with proven track records, adding that they were carefully chosen.

Adeoluwa  assured members of the committee of   government’s readiness to put necessary logistics in place  to enable them  perform their  task  successfully.

Mr Abayomi Sobande, the Chairman of the committee and Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Budget and Planning, expressed members’ appreciation for being chosen.

He pledged a hitch-free hosting.

Other members of the committee included  Mrs Aderonke Adeyokunnu, the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Women Affairs and Social Development  and the Director of Statistics, Ministry of Finance, Mr Emmanuel Ofor.

Also included in the committee are the Director of Information (Production Services), Mr Ayo Oluyemi, the Programme Officer, UNICEF Office, Mr Olatokunbo Sonde, and Dr Kafayat Lawal of  Ogun Primary Healthcare Development Board.

Mrs Yetunde Olatunbosun, the Director Planning, Ministry of Budget and Planning and Mr Abayomi Sogunle, the Special Assistant to the SSG, would also serve in the committee.

The list further  includes Mr Taiwo Dada, a Senior Administrative Officer in the office of the SSG.

The News Agency of  Nigeria (NAN) reports that seven other states across the country  under the UNICEF B-Field Office in Lagos  are expected to participate in the conference.

The states, which are Oyo, Ondo ,Delta, Edo, Lagos, Ekiti and  Osun, would give an account of all UNICEF activities in their respective states.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *