Kanye West Scores Top Honours at BET HIP HOP AWARDS 2012

Kanye West retained his throne at the
BET HIP HOP AWARDS, winning an impressive 7 awards, includingBest Live
Performer and Producer of the Year, at the seventh annual awards held
in Atlanta, Georgia. 2 Chainz had a great night too, taking home
three trophies, including the People’s Champ Award and Rookie of the
Year as well as performing at the show. Rick Ross beat heavy-hitter
Jay-Z for MVP of the Year, but Hov’s business acumen earned him the
Hustler of the Year title.

The BET HIP HOP AWARDS premieres across Africa on Saturday 13 October
on TOPTV (Channel 190) and My TV at 21:00 CAT (repeated Wednesday 17
October at 23:00 CAT

Kendrick Lamar provided the biggest upset of the night, when the
rookie rapper bested veterans Nas, Jay-Z and Kanye West for Lyricist
of the Year, while Drake and Lil Wayne earned the top spot in the
Video of the Year category for their “HYFR” clip.

Hosted by US funnyman Mike Epps, the BET HIP HOP AWARDS delivered an
exceptional night filled with Hip Hop’s biggest stars and highly
anticipated performances. Wiz Khalifa opened the show with a
performance of “Work Hard / Play Hard” featuring Juicy J and Young
Jeezy accompanied by a live band.

In a night that showcased Hip Hop at its best, other highlights
included: Meek Mill’s performance of “Amen” and “Young and Gettin’ It”
featuring Kirko Bangz; Kendrick Lamar introducing a medley of his
popular songs, “The Recipe” and “Swimming Pools”; G.O.O.D. music star
2 Chainz taking the stage to perform “Birthday Song” and “I’m
Different”; Rick Ross’ performance of “Hold Me Back” joined by Omarion
for their single “Ice Cold” and Atlanta’s own T.I. entertaining the
crowd with newest singles “Trap Back Jumpin” and “Go Get It”. Future
featuring Diddy, French Montana, Machine Gun Kelly and Uncle Luke had
everyone on their feet with “Turn on the Lights”, “Same Damn Time”,
“Wild Boy” and “Pop That”.

Closing out the show with pure star power, Violator artists reunited
on stage in honour of late music mogul, Chris Lighty – a Tribe Called
Quest, Missy Elliott, Busta Rhymes, Spliff Star, 50 Cent and <<= Joe
paid their respects during an unforgettable performance with some of
Violator Music’s biggest hits and Chris Lighty’s personal favourites.

Rakim was presented and honoured by his peers with this year’s I AM
HIP HOP ICON award for his seemingly effortless style and delivery
that stems not just from Hip Hop, but from Jazz and R&B influences.
Always a key highlight at the awards are “The Cyphers” – short black
and white clips in which the best emcees in the business show off
their best freestyling skills. Among this year’s Cyphers were Snoop
Dogg, T.I., DMX, A$AP Rocky, Cassidy, Mystikal, Talib Kweli, B.o.B,
Eve, Boy Jones, Brianna Perry, Childish Gambino, Chipmunk, Lil
Chuckee, The Kid Daytona, Driicky Graham, E-40, YG, Hopsin, Iggy
Azalea, Joey Bada$$, K’La, Kendrick Lamar, Kosha Dillz; Kurupt; Mac
Miller, Mystikal, Murda Mook, DJ Quik, RZA, ScHoolboy Q, Tito Lopez,
Trae Tha Truth, Xzibit, Angel Haze and Ab-Soul.

The winners of the BET HIP HOP AWARDS 2012 are:
Best Hip Hop Video: “HYFR” – Drake f/ Lil Wayne
Reese’s Perfect Combo Award (Best Collabo): “Mercy” – Kanye West f/
Big Sean, Pusha T & 2 Chainz
Best Live Performer: The Throne (Jay-Z & Kanye West)
Lyricist of the Year: Kendrick Lamar
Hip Hop Video Director of the Year: Hype Williams
DJ of the Year: DJ Khaled
Producer of the Year: Kanye West
MVP of the Year: Rick Ross
Track of the Year: “Ni**as In Paris” – Produced by Kanye West, Hit-Boy
and Mike Dean (The Throne – Jay-Z & Kanye West)
CD of the Year: Watch The Throne – The Throne (Jay-Z & Kanye West)
Rookie of The Year: 2 Chainz
Hustler of The Year: Jay-Z
Made-You-Look Award (Best Hip Hop Style): Kanye West
Best Club Banger: “Ni**as In Paris” – The Throne (Jay-Z & Kanye West)
Best Mixtape: “Dreamchasers2” – Meek Mill
Sweet 16: Best Featured Verse: 2 Chainz – “Mercy” (Kanye West f/ Big
Sean, Pusha T & 2 Chainz)
Impact Track: “Daughters” – Nas
People’s Champ Award Powered by Verizon: 2 Chainz f/ Drake – “No Lie”
Best Hip Hop Online Site: World Star Hip Hop

BET.com/HipHopAwards is the official site for the BET HIP HOP AWARDS
2012 where fans can visit to get up-to-date info on this year’s show
and take a look back on past BET Hip Hop Awards.

Join the conversation on social media by logging on to BET’s multiple
social media platforms:

• On Twitter by using hashtag: #HipHopAwards; and following us
@HipHopAwards and @BET
• On Facebook by liking the fan page at facebook.com/HipHopAwards

Stephen G. Hill, BET’s President of Music Programming and Specials,
Lynne Harris Taylor, BET’s Vice President of Specials, will serve as
Executive Producers for the BET Hip Hop Awards, along with Jesse
Collins, CEO of Jesse Collins Entertainment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *